No Photo

Happy Mutant Profile

gnosis

Shenzhen travelogue graphic novel

April 16, 2008 11:59am

This looks fantastic! However, Amazon is only showing "New & Used" copies for sale. Did this post cause it to sell out? :-) Is there any place else selling it?

Japanese ads downplay URLs, encourage searches

March 25, 2008 7:17pm

@Oheso - I believe you are spot on, and there's alot of good insight in these comments. Last time I was there (2005) I couldn't believe how many completely un-memorizable URLs were _still_ featured on ads. So weird to see a company that could afford an ad in a train station, but the URL was, like, "http://www.next99.co.jp/english_class/~signup_5432.html"
....or something.

And, yes, if there is any doubt - Yahoo rules Japan.

Illy Push Button House

December 19, 2007 10:51am

A company called Global Building Systems out of Atlanta built at least one school for poor folks in Jamaica several years ago: http://www.gbs-gpc.com
(crappy old website - click on the numbers in the top right corner).

More Jamaican shipping container architecture here:
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/blog/template_archives_cat.asp?cat=13

And more a list of companies that build (mostly for the impoverished) shipping container dwellings here:
http://www.fabprefab.com/fabfiles/containerbayhome.htm

Hallowe'en mashups from Mashing Pumpkins

October 24, 2007 8:19am

Boo - site has been taken down. I'll just have to imagine.

Martin Sanchez's found-object house

October 5, 2007 12:52pm

Haha - you typed "an entire city blog". I think you might need some offline time!

Cheers

MediaDefender sends takedowns for leaked mail, gets savagely taunted

September 20, 2007 11:52am

I liked this one from MediaDefender-Defenders.com
________________________

Hello, Mr. Bob Gerber.

First off, this e-mail may not be a complete statement of fact, fiction,
and I fully reserve a right to change my mind if I feel like it.
Etc. Oh! Also, this e-mail addresses MD, not your law firm.
I didn't feel like digging through the database for an e-mail address, so here I am.


So! I'd like to make you aware of the following facts:

* You don't have any jurisdiction in Norway.
* The server is located in Norway.
* I'm located in Norway.
* Norway is not the United States of America.

That appears to preclude you from pursuing anything but a pointless scenario of
e-mailing me in the middle of the night.

However, fear not! The super-duper Server Admin From North may just yet save you.
See, if you provide a server in the US, I can upload everything there and redirect
the domains - then you can C&D that provider, and let the owner of the server
put in another redirect. Soon, after about a couple hundred C&D's, we'll reach
a state where any client (internet browser) will decide that it's in a loop, and shut down.



You could also pay me a lot of money. That might help. That'd actually help immediately.



But as it stands, it appears that your legal grounds for throwing letters at me
claiming this-or-that is shaky enough that you might want to relocate.

I look forward to your prompt reply. If no such reply is recieved within six hours,
I consider this case null and void as I'm an impatient man.
Well, it's already null and void, it'll just get nuller and voider.



Best regards,

Person Who Fakes His WHOIS Information

CB Ham radio QSL card gallery

September 19, 2007 12:47pm

Whoa - amazing! I found tons more here:
http://hamgallery.com/qsl

No friends yet.